About Us

The society represents the interests of its members and promotes cooperation between the members and their working fields. We are working on the following fields,

  • automatic NL analysis and generation
  • corpus engineering and corpus linguistics
  • document processing and text technology
  • information retrieval and knowledge management
  • artificial intelligence and machine learning
  • dictionaries and terminological databases
  • machine translation
  • human-machine communication
  • multimedia and hypermedia
  • tools for literary and linguistic research

There is a continuum between research and practical application. The GSCL seeks for cooperation between academia and industry and supports communication between CL students with a separate mailing list (cl-studierende [at] gscl.org, registration here).

The GSCL also supports shared task initiatives, the cooperation with neighbouring disciplines (e.g., linguistics and semiotics, computer science and mathematics, psychology and cognitive science, data and information science), and keeps contact to the respective associations. There are international cooperations with organisations like the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL), Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing (ALLC), and the Association for Terminology and Knowledge Engineering (TKE).

History of GSCL

The German Society for Computational Linguistics and Language Technology (GSCL) was founded in 1975 - at first as LDV-Fittings e.V. - as a society for the promotion of scientific linguistic data processing. Nowadays, the GSCL is the scientific association for the research, teaching and professional work in natural language processing. Until recently, the society was called Gesellschaft für Linguistische Datenverarbeitung (GLDV). In 2008, the name was changed to Gesellschaft für Sprachtechnologie und Computerlinguistik / German Society for Computational Linguistics and Language Technology (GSCL)


1975 to 1976 - Prof. Dr. Hans G. Tillmann
1976 to 1981 - Prof. Dr. Dieter Krallmann
1981 to 1985 - Prof. Dr. Jürgen Krause
1985 to 1987 - Prof. Dr. Peter Hellwig
1987 to 1989 - Prof. Dr. Brigitte Endres-Niggemeyer
1989 to 1991 - Prof. Dr. Burghard Rieger
1991 to 1993 - Prof. Dr. Ursula Klenk
1993 to 1997 - Prof. Dr. Winfried Lenders
1997 to 2001 - Prof. Dr. Roland Hausser
2001 to 2007 - Prof. Dr. Henning Lobin
2007 to 2009 - Prof. Dr. Angelika Storrer
2009 to 2015 - Prof. Dr. Manfred Stede
2015 to 2017 - Prof. Dr. Heike Zinsmeister
2017 to now - Prof. Dr. Torsten Zesch

The Charter of GSCL is available here