Conferences and events (co-)organised by the GSCL with the aim of fostering the exchange of experiences on a high level by presenting foundational research in computational linguistics and selected practical talks by experts. These conferences and events also serve as a platform for presenting excellent junior research(ers) and the GSCL Awards for PhD and BA/MA theses.

GSCL Research and Tutorial Talks

The GSCL Talks were started in 2021 with the aim of bringing our community closer together via regular virtual technical and linguistic discussions. There are two formats: Research Talks, which feature invited talks on recent research topics, and Tutorial Talks intended for students and doctoral students. Participation links are sent out to members shortly before each meeting.

Any questions? Contact Annemarie Friedrich.

GSCL Research Talks

The GSCL Research Talks, started in February 2021, offer a forum for exchange about recent research topics for academia and industry. Speakers include senior-level researchers from academia and industry. Talks are held in German or English with each talk’s language announced beforehand. The duration of the talk is one hour including 30 minutes of Q&A.

GSCL Tutorial Talks

GSCL Tutorial Talks include 90-minute sessions on specific topics within computational linguistics that are not usually within the curriculum, deep dives into a particular research project, or introductory lectures to neighboring disciplines. The series also features interviews with experts on their personal experiences and presentations of industrial research. It is a forum for students and doctoral students to connect with experts, learn about internship or hiring opportunities and network with experts and fellow students from other universities.

Past and Upcoming Talks

List of all GSCL talk announcements

Recent announcements:

Language understanding and misunderstanding

Michael Roth (Universität Stuttgart)

Abstract When we use language, we usually assume that the meaning of our statements is clear and that others can understand precisely this meaning. However, that this may not always be the case is for example demonstrated by vague statements in polit [more…]

KONVENS

KONVENS started as a co-ordinated event of several professional organisations from the German-speaking area. Since 2018, KONVENS has been the overarching conference on computational linguistics in the German-speaking area.

GSCL/GLDV-Conferences (every two years until 2017)

Since 2018, the conference series has been merged with KONVENS.

TaCoS

TaCoS is a conference series dating back to the 1990s that is open to any student interested in the areas of computational linguistics and natural language processing as well as its neighboring applied and theoretical disciplines from psycholinguistics to computer science.

Die von der GSCL (mit-)organisierten Fachtagungen und virtuellen Veranstaltungen befördern den Erfahrungsaustausch auf hohem Niveau durch die Vorstellung computerlinguistischer Grundlagenforschung und ausgewählte Praxisvorträge von Experten. Sie dienen auch als Plattform für die Präsentation herausragender Nachwuchsarbeiten sowie für die Verleihung der GSCL-Preise für Dissertationen und BA-/MA-Abschlussarbeiten .

GSCL Research and Tutorial Talks

Mit dem Ziel eines regelmäßigen technischen und linguistischen Austauschs finden seit Januar 2021 regelmäßig virtuelle Veranstaltungen statt. Es gibt zwei Formate: „Research Talks“ in Form eingeladener Vorträge zu aktuellen Forschungsthemen, und „Tutorial Talks“ mit der primären Zielgruppe Studierende und Doktoranden. Teilnahmelinks werden jeweils kurz vor den Veranstaltungen an alle GSCL-Mitglieder versandt.

Fragen? Antworten gibt’s von Annemarie Friedrich, annemarie.friedrich@gmail.com.

GSCL Research Talks

Die GSCL Research Talks, die seit Februar 2021 stattfinden, bieten ein Forum für den Austausch über aktuelle Forschungsthemen in der Wissenschaft und der Industrie. Zu den Vortragenden zählen hochrangige Forscher aus Wissenschaft und Industrie. Die Vorträge werden auf Deutsch oder Englisch gehalten, wobei die Sprache jedes Vortrags im Voraus bekannt gegeben wird. Die Veranstaltungsdauer beträgt eine Stunde, einschließlich 30 Minuten Fragen und Antworten.

GSCL Tutorial Talks

Die 90minütigen GSCL Tutorial Talks behandeln spezielle Themen der Computerlinguistik, die normalerweise nicht im Lehrplan enthalten sind, Einblicke in Forschungsprojekte oder Einführungsvorträge in benachbarte Disziplinen. Die Reihe enthält auch Interviews mit Experten über ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen und Präsentationen aus der industriellen Forschung. Die GSCL Tutorial Talks sind ein Forum für Studierende und Doktoranden, um sich mit Experten auszutauschen, sich über Praktikums- oder Einstellungsmöglichkeiten zu informieren und sich mit Experten und Kommilitonen anderer Universitäten zu vernetzen.

Vergangene und kommende Vorträge

Liste aller Ankündigungen von GSCL Talks

Letzte Ankündigungen:

Language understanding and misunderstanding

Michael Roth (Universität Stuttgart)

Abstract When we use language, we usually assume that the meaning of our statements is clear and that others can understand precisely this meaning. However, that this may not always be the case is for example demonstrated by vague statements in polit [mehr…]

KONVENS

Die KONVENS ist eine Tagungsreihe, die von verschiedenen Fachgesellschaften aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum getragen wird. Seit 2018 ist die KONVENS die übergreifende Konferenz zu Computerlinguistik und Sprachtechnologie im deutschsprachigen Raum.

GSCL/GLDV-Conferences

Die GSCL/GLDV-Konferenzen fanden bis 2017 zweijährlich statt, seitdem sind sie in der KONVENS-Reihe aufgegangen.

TaCoS

TaCoS ist eine Konferenzreihe, die bereits in den 1990er Jahren etabliert wurde und allen Studenten offen steht, die sich für die Bereiche Computerlinguistik und Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache sowie deren angrenzender angewandter und theoretischer Disziplinen von Psycholinguistik bis Informatik interessieren.