The German Society for Computational Linguistics and Language Technology (German: Gesellschaft für Sprachtechnologie und Computerlinguistik e.V., GSCL) was founded in 1975 as “LDV-Fittings e.V.”, later renamed to “Gesellschaft für Linguistische Datenverarbeitung (GLDV) e. V.” to foster linguistic data processing. Since September 2008, it has its current name.

Prof. Dr. Burghard Rieger

On September 20, 2012 in Vienna, the German Society for Computational Linguistics and Language Technology decided to appoint Prof. Dr. Burghard Rieger as honorary member. The honours ceremony took place on September 27, 2013 at the GSCL Conference in Darmstadt.

Prof. Dr. Winfried Lenders †

On 01.10.2009 in Potsdam, the German Society for Computational Linguistics and Language Technology decided to appoint Prof. Dr. Winfried Lenders for its first honorary member. With the founding of the LDV-Fittings in 1975, Professor Lenders established the pathbreaking precursor of the GSCL. From 1993 to 1997, he chaired the then renamed Association for Computational Linguistics (GLDV), and was a long-standing member of the Advisory Board. His ongoing commitment contributed significantly to the profile of our scientific society.

Professor Winfried Lenders passed away on May 1, 2015. With him, the GSCL loses not only a highly respected scientist, but also a longtime dedicated supporter of the association’s work. We will deeply miss him.

Die Gesellschaft für Sprachtechnologie und Computerlinguistik e.V. (GSCL) wurde 1975 unter dem Namen “LDV-Fittings e.V.”, später als “Gesellschaft für Linguistische Datenverarbeitung (GLDV) e. V zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen linguistischen Datenverarbeitung gegründet. Seit September 2008 trägt sie den jetzigen Namen.

Prof. Dr. Burghard Rieger

Am 20.09.2012 beschloss die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Computerlinguistik und Sprachtechnologie in Wien, Prof. Dr. Burghard Rieger zum Ehrenmitglied zu ernennen. Die Preisverleihung fand am 27.09.2013 auf der GSCL-Konferenz in Darmstadt statt.

Prof. Dr. Winfried Lenders †

Am 01.10.2009 beschloss die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Computerlinguistik und Sprachtechnologie in Potsdam, Prof. Dr. Winfried Lenders zum ersten Ehrenmitglied zu ernennen. Mit der Gründung der LDV-Fittings im Jahr 1975 etablierte Prof. Lenders den wegweisenden Vorläufer der GSCL. Von 1993 bis 1997 war er Vorsitzender der damals umbenannten Vereinigung für Computerlinguistik (GLDV) und langjähriges Mitglied des Beirats. Sein kontinuierliches Engagement trug wesentlich zum Profil unserer wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft bei.

Prof. Dr. Winfried Lenders verstarb am 1. Mai 2015. Mit ihm verliert die GSCL nicht nur einen hoch angesehenen Wissenschaftler, sondern auch einen langjährigen engagierten Unterstützer der Arbeit des Vereins. Wir werden ihn sehr vermissen.