About us

About Us

The GSCL is the scientific association for research, teaching and professional work on natural language processing. The society represents the interests of its members and promotes cooperation between the members and their working fields, such as:

  • automatic NL analysis and generation
  • corpus engineering and corpus linguistics
  • document processing and text technology
  • information retrieval and knowledge management
  • artificial intelligence and machine learning
  • dictionaries and terminological databases
  • machine translation
  • human-machine communication
  • multimedia and hypermedia
  • tools for literary and linguistic research

There is a continuum between research and practical application. The GSCL seeks for cooperation between academia and industry and supports communication between CL students with a separate mailing list (cl-studierende [at] gscl.org, registration here).

The GSCL also supports shared task initiatives like GermEval, the cooperation with neighbouring disciplines (e.g., linguistics and semiotics, computer science and mathematics, psychology and cognitive science, data and information science, digital humanities), and keeps contact to the respective associations. There are international contacts with organisations like the Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL) and the European Association for Digital Humanities (EADH), formerly Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing (ALLC).

Short History of the GSCL

The German Society for Computational Linguistics and Language Technology (GSCL) was founded in 1975 as "LDV-Fittings e.V." - a society for the promotion of scientific linguistic data processing. Later, until 2008, the society was called "Gesellschaft für Linguistische Datenverarbeitung (GLDV)".


11975 to 1976 - Prof. Dr. Hans G. Tillmann
1976 to 1981 - Prof. Dr. Dieter Krallmann
1981 to 1985 - Prof. Dr. Jürgen Krause
1985 to 1987 - Prof. Dr. Peter Hellwig
1987 to 1989 - Prof. Dr. Brigitte Endres-Niggemeyer
1989 to 1991 - Prof. Dr. Burghard Rieger
1991 to 1993 - Prof. Dr. Ursula Klenk
1993 to 1997 - Prof. Dr. Winfried Lenders
1997 to 2001 - Prof. Dr. Roland Hausser
2001 to 2007 - Prof. Dr. Henning Lobin
2007 to 2009 - Prof. Dr. Angelika Storrer
2009 to 2015 - Prof. Dr. Manfred Stede
2015 to 2017 - Prof. Dr. Heike Zinsmeister
2017 to now - Prof. Dr. Torsten Zesch

The charter of the GSCL is available here.