The GSCL offers awards for doctoral theses and MA/BA theses.

GSCL Award for best Student Thesis

Every two years, GSCL awards two prizes worth € 400 each for the best student undergraduate thesis and for the best master's thesis in the field of language technology and computational linguistics.

The nomination will be done by a supervisor. The lecturers at universities and technical colleges in German-speaking countries are called upon to encourage their best graduates of the past two years to submit a summary of their thesis. Based on a blind reviewing process, members of the GSCL Board and Advisory Board select the best papers in a pre-selection process. These will then be presented by the authors at the KONVENS meeting in the final round. Travel costs and conference fees are borne by the GSCL.

The current selection round takes place in the summer of 2019 with the final round at the KONVENS conference in Erlangen/Nuremberg (08.10.-11.10.2019). Nominated theses should be submitted between April 2017 and March 2019. Nominations must be emailed to by 15.5.2019.

For the nomination, the following documents must be submitted in PDF format:

The following criteria are based on the evaluation of submissions for the GSCL Prize:

At the final round, the quality of the oral presentation will be added. The legal process is excluded.

Award winners since 2001:

2017: Mathias Müller (Zurich, Master): Treatment of Markup in Statistical Machine Translation ; Katarina Ragna Krüger (Potsdam, Bachelor): Assessing the Dimensions of Factuality in Biomedical Text

2015: Edo Collins (Tübingen, Master): Classifying German Noun-Noun Compounds Using Stacked Denoising Autoencoders ; Glorianna Jagfeld (Stuttgart, Bachelor): Towards a Better Semantic Role Labeling of Complex Predicates

2013: Marcel Bollmann (Bochum): Automatic Normalization for Linguistic Annotation of Historical Language Data

2011: Christian M. Meyer (Darmstadt): Combining Answers from Heterogenous Web Documents for Question Answering

2009: Christian Hardmeier (Basel): Using Linguistic Annotations in Statistical Machine Translation of Film Subtitles ; Pierre Lison (Saarbrücken): Robust Processing of Spoken Dialogue

2007: Jette Klein-Berning (Heidelberg): Multilingual Information Retrieval with Latent Semantic Indexing

2005: Hans-Friedrich Witschel (Leipzig): Text, Words, Morphes: Possibilities of Automatic Terminology Extraction

2003: David Reitter (Potsdam): Rhetorical Analysis with Rich-Feature Support Vector Models

2001: Georg Rehm (Osnabrück): Preliminary Considerations for the Automatic Summary of German Texts Using an SGML and DSSSL-Based Representation of RST Relations

GSCL Award for best Doctoral Thesis in the memory of Wolfgang Hoeppner

The German Society for Computational Linguistics (GSCL) is to award a prize for an excellent doctoral thesis in the field of language technology / computational linguistics once every two years. The thesis must have been submitted in one of the disciplines or its subdisciplines.

Competition 2018

Candidates should have defended their work (viva voce), but not earlier than May 2016. Prior nomination for other awards is permitted. Theses from all German-speaking countries are acceptable (Austria, Germany and Switzerland) as well as from any other country, as long as the topic is focused on the German language.

The following documentation must be submitted in the PDF format:

  • a copy of the thesis
  • at least one recommendation (generally by the first referee)
  • summary of the doctoral thesis (max. 10 pages)
  • list of the candidate’s publications
  • Curriculum Vitae

Work that marks relevant progress and can be expected to significantly advance language technology / computational linguistics will be considered for the award.

The successful candidate will be awarded € 1000.

Submission deadline for 2018: April 30, 2018, 23:59 CEST.

All documents must be submitted by this date, either in German or English, to the Submission System.

The jury members have been nominated by the scientific advisory board of the GSCL. They are:

  • Prof. Dr. Chris Biemann, Universität Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Norbert Fuhr, Universität Duisburg-Essen
  • Prof. Dr. Iryna Gurevych, Technische Universität Darmstadt (chair)
  • Prof. Dr. Jonas Kuhn, Universität Stuttgart
  • Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schröder, Universität Duisburg-Essen
  • Prof. Dr. Caroline Sporleder, Universität Göttingen
  • Prof. Dr. Angelika Storrer, Universität Mannheim

The jury will select a shortlist of candidates by late July 2018; and the prize will be awarded at the KONVENS 2018 conference.

It is possible to increase the number of awardees, and the prize money can be shared. Recourse to the courts is ruled out.

Awardees since 2014

2018: Annemarie Friedrich (Universität des Saarlandes): States, events, and generics: computational modeling of situation entity types"
Referees: Manfred Pinkal, Alexis Palmer

2016: Martin Riedl (Technische Universität Darmstadt): Unsupervised Methods for Learning and Using Semantics of Natural Language
Referees: Chris Biemann, Anders Søgaard

2014: Nadir Durrani (Stuttgart): A Joint Translation Model with Integrated Reordering Honorable Mention: Annelen Brunner (Würzburg): Automatische Erkennung von Redewiedergabe in literarischen Texten