GSCL doctoral thesis award in memory of Wolfgang Hoeppner

The German Society for Computational Linguistics (GSCL) is to award a prize for an excellent doctoral thesis in the field of language technology / computational linguistics once every two years. The thesis must have been submitted in one of the disciplines or its subdisciplines.

Competition 2018

Candidates should have defended their work (viva voce), but not earlier than May 2016. Prior nomination for other awards is permitted. Theses from all German-speaking countries are acceptable (Austria, Germany and Switzerland) as well as from any other country, as long as the topic is focused on the German language.

The following documentation must be submitted in the PDF format:

  • a copy of the thesis
  • at least one recommendation (generally by the first referee)
  • summary of the doctoral thesis (max. 10 pages)
  • list of the candidate’s publications
  • Curriculum Vitae

Work that marks relevant progress and can be expected to significantly advance language technology / computational linguistics will be considered for the award.

The successful candidate will be awarded € 1000.

Submission deadline for 2018: April 30, 2018, 23:59 CEST.

All documents must be submitted by this date, either in German or English, to the Submission System.

The jury members have been nominated by the scientific advisory board of the GSCL. They are:

  • Prof. Dr. Chris Biemann, Universität Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Norbert Fuhr, Universität Duisburg-Essen
  • Prof. Dr. Iryna Gurevych, Technische Universität Darmstadt
  • Prof. Dr. Jonas Kuhn, Universität Stuttgart
  • Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schröder, Universität Duisburg-Essen
  • Prof. Dr. Caroline Sporleder, Universität Göttingen
  • Prof. Dr. Angelika Storrer, Universität Mannheim
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Witt, Universität Köln (chair)

The jury will select a shortlist of candidates by late July 2018; and the prize will be awarded at the KONVENS 2018 conference.

It is possible to increase the number of awardees, and the prize money can be shared. Recourse to the courts is ruled out.

Awardees since 2014

2016: Martin Riedl (Technische Universität Darmstadt): Unsupervised Methods for Learning and Using Semantics of Natural Language
Referees: Chris Biemann, Anders Søgaard

2014: Nadir Durrani (Stuttgart): A Joint Translation Model with Integrated Reordering
Honorable Mention: Annelen Brunner (Würzburg): Automatische Erkennung von Redewiedergabe in literarischen Texten